Courses Offered in UNIBEN | All University of Benin Courses 2024

If you’re considering joining the University of Benin (UNIBEN), it’s crucial to familiarize yourself with the extensive range of courses offered across its fifteen faculties. In this blog post, we’ll provide an overview of UNIBEN’s faculties and delve into some of the departments and courses available for aspiring students.

UNIBEN’s Faculties:

The University of Benin boasts fifteen faculties, each offering a unique array of courses to cater to diverse academic interests. These faculties include:

  1. Faculty of Agriculture
  2. Faculty of Arts
  3. Faculty of Education
  4. Faculty of Engineering
  5. Faculty of Environmental Science
  6. Faculty of Law
  7. Faculty of Life Science
  8. Faculty of Management Science
  9. Faculty of Pharmacy
  10. Faculty of Physical Science
  11. Faculty of Social Science
  12. Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
  13. Faculty/School of Medicine
  14. Faculty/School of Basic Medical Sciences
  15. Faculty/School of Dentistry

Exploring Departmental Courses:

Within each faculty, there are numerous departmental courses designed to provide a comprehensive educational experience. Here are some examples from selected faculties:

  1. Faculty of Agriculture:

    • Aquaculture and Fishery Management
    • Animal Science
    • Agricultural Economics and Extension Services
    • Food Science and Nutrition
  2. Faculty of Arts:

    • English and Literature
    • Mass Communication
    • Philosophy
    • Theatre Arts
  3. Faculty of Education:

    • Early Childhood Education
    • Education and Biology
    • Education and Chemistry
    • Educational Administration
  4. Faculty of Engineering:

    • Chemical Engineering
    • Computer Engineering
    • Mechanical Engineering
    • Petroleum Engineering
  5. Faculty of Pharmacy:

    • Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice
    • Pharmaceutical Chemistry
    • Pharmacology and Toxicology

These examples highlight just a fraction of the diverse courses available at UNIBEN.

READ This:  UNIUYO Resumption Date 2024/2025 | University of Uyo Resumption Date


Established in 1970, the University of Benin began as an Institute of Technology and attained university status in 1971. In 1975, it transitioned into a Federal University under the Federal Government’s jurisdiction.


Choosing the right course is a pivotal decision for any aspiring student. This article aims to provide a glimpse into the myriad courses offered at UNIBEN. For more detailed information and clarifications, please visit the official school portal at


Q: How many faculties does UNIBEN have? A: UNIBEN has fifteen faculties, each offering a unique set of courses to cater to diverse academic interests.

Q: When was UNIBEN established? A: The University of Benin was founded in 1970 as an Institute of Technology and gained university status on July 1, 1971.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button