University Of Ibadan Postgraduate Grading System (2024)

Embarking on a postgraduate degree journey at the University of Ibadan (UI)? Understanding the grading system is crucial for academic planning. Let’s break down UI’s postgraduate grading system as of 2024 in simple terms.

The 4-Point Grading System:

In 2016-2017, UI transitioned to a 4-point grading system for both undergraduate and postgraduate programs. Here’s a quick guide to the letter grades and their corresponding points:

  • A: 70-100% (4.00 points) – Excellent
  • B: 60-69% (3.00 points) – Very Good
  • C: 50-59% (2.00 points) – Good
  • D: 45-49% (1.00 points) – Pass
  • E: Below 45% (0.00 points) – Fail

Understanding Classifications:

Your grades contribute to your Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA), and UI uses the following classifications:

  • First Class Honours: CGPA of 3.50-4.00
  • Second Class Honours (Upper Division): CGPA of 3.00-3.49
  • Second Class Honours (Lower Division): CGPA of 2.00-2.99
  • Pass: CGPA of 1.00-1.99
  • Fail: CGPA below 1.00

Program-Specific Variations:

While the 4-point system is the general framework, some programs may have specific rules:

  1. Minimum Passing Grade: Certain programs may require a higher minimum passing grade than the university’s D (45-49%).
  2. Course-Specific Weightage: Courses may have different credit weights, affecting your overall CGPA calculation.
  3. Additional Assessments: Some programs may include projects, presentations, or research components beyond traditional exams, influencing your final grade.


As you navigate the UI postgraduate grading system, always refer to your program brochure or handbook for precise details. This understanding will aid your academic journey, making it smoother and more successful. Good luck on your postgraduate adventure at the University of Ibadan!

READ This:  ATBU School Fees 2024 Academic Session

Leave a Reply

Back to top button