How To Calculate Unilag CGPA (2024)

For many Nigerian students, the University of Lagos (UNILAG) is a dream school known for academic excellence and a vibrant community. If you’re lucky enough to be enrolled there, understanding your academic performance is crucial, and that’s where your Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) comes into play. This blog post aims to provide a clear and concise guide for UNILAG students on how to calculate their CGPA in 2024. We’ll also touch on some of the top universities in Nigeria for a broader audience seeking general information.

Top 5 Universities in Nigeria:

  1. University of Ibadan (UI): Founded in 1948, UI is Nigeria’s oldest university, known for excellence in research and teaching, offering a variety of programs.
  2. University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN): Established in 1960, UNN is renowned for its focus on agriculture, engineering, and medicine, with a beautiful campus and vibrant student community.
  3. Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU): Founded in 1961, OAU is located in Ile-Ife and is recognized for strong programs in law, humanities, and social sciences.
  4. University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT): Established in 1977, UNIPORT is a federal university in Rivers State, offering programs in engineering, sciences, and humanities.
  5. Lagos State University (LASU): Founded in 1967, LASU is the largest university in Nigeria by student enrollment, offering a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate programs.

 Gather your course information.

  • Collect exam results and transcripts for all completed semesters.
  • Note down the credit unit assigned to each course.

Convert your grades to grade points.

  • UNILAG uses a letter grading system (A=5, B=4, C=3, D=2, E=1, F=0).

 Calculate the quality points for each course.

  • Multiply the grade point by the corresponding credit unit for each course.
READ This:  UNIBEN 2024 Admission List Is Out Now

 Calculate the total quality points.

  • Add up the quality points earned in all courses.

 Calculate the total credit units.

  • Add up the credit units of all courses taken.

Divide the total quality points by the total credit units.

  • This gives your UNILAG CGPA.


  • Mathematics 101: A (3 units) – Grade Point 5, Quality Points 15
  • English Literature 202: B (2 units) – Grade Point 4, Quality Points 8
  • Chemistry 303: C (4 units) – Grade Point 3, Quality Points 12
  • Physics 404: D (3 units) – Grade Point 2, Quality Points 6
  • History 505: E (2 units) – Grade Point 1, Quality Points 2
  • Total Quality Points: 43, Total Credit Units: 14, CGPA: 43 / 14 = 3.07

Additional Tips:

  • UNILAG uses a 4.0 grading scale, with 4.0 being the highest possible CGPA.
  • Some courses may have different weights, affecting CGPA; check your department handbook.
  • Only higher grades are considered for retake courses.
  • Online CGPA calculators for UNILAG students can simplify the process.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button