List Of Social Science Courses At Lagos State University (LASU)

Lagos State University’s Faculty of Social Sciences offers a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate programs across five diverse departments. Whether you’re interested in economics, geography, political science, psychology, sociology, or social work, LASU provides comprehensive education and research opportunities.

Programs Offered:

  1. Department of Economics:

    • B.Sc. Economics: Learn economic theory, principles, and analytical tools.
    • M.Sc. Economics: Advance your economic analysis and research skills.
    • Ph.D. Economics: Prepare for academic research and teaching careers.
  2. Department of Geography and Planning:

    • B.Sc. Geography: Study physical and human aspects of the Earth.
    • B.Sc. Urban and Regional Planning: Focus on urban and regional development.
    • M.Sc. Geography: Specialize in environmental, economic, or social geography.
    • M.Sc. Urban and Regional Planning: Advance your planning theory and practice.
    • Ph.D. Geography: Dive deep into geographical concepts and research.
  3. Department of Political Science:

    • B.Sc. Political Science: Understand political theory, institutions, and processes.
    • M.Sc. Political Science: Specialize in international relations, comparative politics, or public administration.
    • Ph.D. Political Science: Explore advanced political theory and research.
  4. Department of Psychology:

    • B.Sc. Psychology: Gain insight into psychological theory and research methods.
    • M.Sc. Psychology: Specialize in clinical, organizational, or educational psychology.
    • Ph.D. Psychology: Prepare for academic research and teaching roles.
  5. Department of Sociology:

    • B.Sc. Sociology: Analyze social structures and inequalities.
    • M.Sc. Sociology: Focus on medical, urban, or industrial sociology.
    • Ph.D. Sociology: Conduct advanced sociological research.
    • M.SW. Social Work: Learn social work theory and practice for community development.

Admission Requirements:

  • Five O’Level credits, including English, Mathematics, and relevant subjects.
  • Meet the JAMB cut-off mark for your chosen program.
  • Pass the Post-UTME Screening test for consideration.
READ This:  UNIDEL Cut Off Mark 2024/2025 Academic Session

Scholarship Opportunities:

  • LASU Merit Scholarship: Based on exceptional UTME and post-UTME scores.
  • LASU Need-Based Scholarship: Financial assistance for economically disadvantaged students.
  • Faculty/Departmental Scholarships: Offered based on specific criteria.
  • External Scholarships: Various organizations provide scholarships for LASU students.


Q: What are the admission requirements for LASU? A: Requirements vary by program but generally include five O’Level credits, meeting the JAMB cut-off mark, and passing the Post-UTME Screening.

Q: What are the most popular courses at LASU? A: Popular courses include Law, Medicine, Accounting, Mass Communication, and Computer Science.

Q: What are the scholarship opportunities available at LASU? A: LASU offers Merit, Need-Based, Faculty/Departmental, and External Scholarships for students in various fields.


LASU’s Faculty of Social Sciences provides a diverse array of programs, rigorous academic standards, and ample scholarship opportunities. Whether you’re pursuing undergraduate or postgraduate studies, LASU offers a vibrant academic environment to foster your growth and success. Explore LASU today for an enriching educational experience!

Leave a Reply

Back to top button